The Dark Reality Behind America’s Greatest Thrift Store Empire

How a Saturday night internet wormhole effectively ruined my favorite store.

Alice C. Minium
10 min readApr 22, 2018
Image: Henry J. Cordes

“We are trapped. Everybody who works at Goodwill is trapped.” -Harold Leigland, $5.46 an hour

Goodwill has long been my favorite store. As someone who detests the practices of most businesses that exploit cheap labor in foreign countries, not to mention the cost of buying goods retail, I love shopping at Goodwill. At the same time, I always wondered- is something a little sketchy here?

Everybody loves Goodwill. I’m not denying that. Your favorite collectible art piece or pair of pants you could never afford at retail price are fond, happy discoveries borne within that treasure trove palace behind those beautiful blue doors. The glories of thrift store shopping aside, is Goodwill really a charity? How, exactly, would that work?

Legally? Yes, it is a tax-exempt nonprofit that does perform work for the public good.

But morally? It’s got some pretty dark secrets.

I am not denying that Goodwill does some really wonderful stuff. But what if we didn’t know the whole story?

--

--

Alice C. Minium

Richmond-based writer, investigative researcher, and police abolitionist. Contact me at alice@openoversightva.org.